Since inception, we have provided $54,200 in scholarships to 52 outstanding young men and women.

Please read all to ONLINE APPLICATION is located at the bottom of this page.


The River Cup Foundation is a federal and state approved not-for-profit corporation whose mission is to further the growth of the game of golf in Central Illinois, and to utilize golf as a vehicle to raise and distribute funds to worthwhile charities in Peoria, Tazewell and Woodford counties. The Foundation’s charitable and scholarship activities focus on the needs of the youth population in the Tri-County area. The Foundation also sponsors annual competitions for Men, Senior Men and Junior Boys, which matches teams from Peoria county against teams from Tazewell/Woodford counties. Additionally, the Foundation hosts an annual fund raising golf outing and sponsors other fund raising activities throughout the year. 


The River Cup Scholarship has been established to assist Tri-County residents with the costs of post secondary higher education. River Cup Foundation Scholarships are awarded to recipients for one year only. To be eligible for consideration, the following criteria must be met: 

  • Be a U.S. Citizen, and either reside or attend school in Peoria, Tazewell or Woodford counties at the time of application.
  • Be a high school senior at the time of application.
  • The applicant must have already been accepted for post secondary education at the time of application OR must show that if awarded a scholarship, the applicant has accepted an enrollment offer for post secondary education.
  • Scholarships may be awarded to any male or female student and will be awarded without regard to physical ability, race, color, creed or national origin.
  • Applicants must have achieved a grade average of “B” or better through their first three and one half years (seven semesters), of high school education.
  • Scholarships will be awarded to those applicants who attend an accredited two or four year college or university within the United States. Vocational schools are not eligible for scholarship application under this program.
  • Immediate family members of any current River Cup Foundation Officer, Director, or affiliated person are ineligible for this program.
  • Strong consideration will be given to applicants who have shown an interest in improving their environment through participation in extra curricular and/or community and charitable activities.
  • To be considered for a scholarship under this program, applicants must demonstrate an interest and involvement in golf. Examples of such interest might include, but are not limited to the following:
    1. Member of a high school golf team
    2. Participation in Tri-County Juniors, Peoria Junior Opens, or other tournaments
    3. Employment in a golf related field (ie. Golf course maintenance position, golf shop, practice facility, caddy program)
    4. Have currently or in the past held a CDGA or USGA handicap card.
  • All applicants must be of high moral character and provide references.


The preferred method for applying for a River Cup Scholarship is at the Foundation’s website at At the website you will find all the information needed to complete your application.   

Scholarship recipients will be notified of their award in June of 2022 and the awards will be announced at the 2022Junior River Cup 

The Foundation strongly encourages all individuals meeting the eligibility criteria to apply for a River Cup Foundation Scholarship. If you do not complete your application online, please mail completed paper applications to: 

201 Clock Tower Drive
East Peoria, IL  61611


Applications must be received by  April 30, 2022 
After that date applications will be ineligible for consideration.

Our past winners are listed below

2001   Katie Dondanville - Dunlap HS - University of Illinois
          Ben Miller - Eureka HS - Olivet Nazarene College
          Each received $1,000


2002   Sarah Campbell - Dunlap HS - Iowa State University 
          Ryan Eckhart - Peoria Notre Dame HS - Purdue University
          Ashley Higginson - Pekin HS - Illinois Wesleyan University 
          Kris Wildenradt - Delavan HS - Illinois State University

          Each received $1,000.   


2003   Doug Middendorf - Peoria Notre Dame HS - Monmouth College 

          Received $2,000

   Logan Howell - Washington HS - Bradley University 
          Amanda Dondanville - Dunlap HS - University of Illinois 
          Chris Waible - Peoria Notre Dame HS - Arizona State University 
          Kalman Nagy - Peoria Notre Dame HS - University of Illinois

          Each received $1,000.

2005   Sarah Butler - Pekin HS - University of Illinois 
          Tyler Evans - El Paso Gridley HS - Illinois State University 
          Mark Sparrow - Dunlap HS - University of Illinois

          Each received $1,000


2006   Megan Gober - Peoria Notre Dame HS - University of Illinois 
          Connor Vance - El Paso Gridley HS - Bradley University

          Each received $1,000.

2007   Caitlyn Easley - Farmington HS - Indiana Wesleyan University
          Matthew Jones - East Peoria HS - University of Illinois
          Darren Smith - Washington HS - Western Illinois University
          Each received $1,000   

2008   Jenna McLoughlin - Pekin HS - University of Illinois
          Joe Bielenberg - Peoria Notre Dame HS - Southern Illinois University
          Alex Duncan - El Paso Gridley HS - Heartland Community College
          Each received $1,000

2009   Katie Lutz - El Paso Gridley HS - Heartland Community College
          Kayse Lutz - El Paso Gridley HS - Heartland Community College
          Andrew McComb - Peoria Notre Dame HS - St. Louis University
          Each received $1,000

2010   Jennifer Haywood - Eureka HS - Southern Indiana University
          Jared Johnson - IVC HS - Monmouth College
          Each received $1,000

2011   Jessica Knepp - El Paso Gridley HS - Western Illinois University
          Cameron Cordts - Pekin HS - Bradley University
          Each received $1,000

2012   Megan Campbell - Pekin HS - Southern Illinois Edwardsville  
          Nolan Graves - Tremont HS - University of Illinois
          Each received $1,000 

2013   Abigail Young - Metamora HS - Bradley University
          Patrick Wille - Notre Dame HS - University of Illinois

          Each received $1,000 

 2014   Natalie Fortner - Fieldcrest HS - University of Kentucky
          Luke Detloff - Morton HS - University of Illinois

          Each received $1,000 

2015    James Kellock - Notre Dame HS - Northwestern University
           Drew Pershing - Washington HS - Illinois Wesleyan University
            Each received $1,000
2016     Gabe Sowards - Dunlap HS - Wake Forest University
            Derek Zielsdorf - El Paso Gridley HS - Iowa State University

               Each received $1,000

2017     Rachel Feeney - Washington HS - Mississippi State University
            Brody Duncan - El Paso HS- Heartland College
            Allison Kinsinger - Washington HS - Butler University

                  Each received $1,200



Hayley Coffman--Eureka High School--Quincy University

Rebecca Gorman--Washington High School--Millikin University

Ellyn Liu--Dunlap High School--University of Chicago

           Each received $1,200


Emma Baker--El Paso Gridley HS--U of Illinois

Cole Cox--Peoria Christian HS--Olivet Nazarine

Hunter Mettille--IVC HS--St. Ambrose

   each received $1,000


each received $1000


Tyler Schmidt


Dunlap High School


University of Missouri


 Kate Henkel


El Paso Gridley High School


 Illinois Central College


Jenna Martin


Pekin Community High School


Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville 


2021==each winner received $1,000

ADITI TRIPATHI-Richwoods HS --University of Illinois

CHARLIE WAKE-Elmwood HS --Rose/Hulman Inst of Tech


2022=each winner received $1,000




If you have any questions, please send us an email.